I’ve tweeted several times of my love of hoarding points on my Costa Coffee loyalty card. I haven’t quite yet got to the point where I’ll be leaving my card in my will, but it’s not far off that.

Then just the other day, a thought occurred to me, which was there ought to be some reward other than simply points accumulated.

The answer was obvious: a scale of achievement similar to that of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, albeit perhaps divided by ten to make it more achievable.

And you know what? It turns out I’m already a 5th level coffee drinker! Now I just need to avoid listening to my wife’s occasional suggestion that perhaps I ought to, you know, actually cash in my points some time, possibly by buying her a coffee.

The Scale

100 Points: 1st Level

300 Points: 2nd Level

600 Points: 3rd Level

1000 Points: 4th Level

1500 Points: 5th Level

2100 Points: 6th Level

2800 Points: 7th Level

3600 Points: 8th Level

4500 Points: 9th Level

5500 Points: 10th Level